• Address: 630 S. Elm Ave. • Webster Groves, MO 63119
    Phone numbers:
         314-963-6450
         314-918-4624 (fax) 

    Students may not arrive until 8:05 a.m., when the building opens.

    8:25am: First Period Begins


    3:25: Dismissal begins

    3:30 Mondays and Fridays: Office closes

    4:20pm: After-School Activities End -- Tuesdays, Wednesdays, & Thursdays only once they begin

    4:30pm: Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday: Office Closes

Loading...

Contact Information

  • Principal:
    Dr. Shenita Mayes

    918-4551  |  ext. 14001
    mayes.shenita@wgmail.org

    Assistant Principals:
    Mr. Jeffrey Atterberry
    918-xxxx  |  ext. 14xxx
    atterberry.jeff@wgmail.org

    Dr. Aimee Vogt

    918-4567  |  14917
    vogt.aimee@wgmail.org

    Michael Hazelton

    918-4552  | ext. 14902
    hazelton.mike@wgmail.org

    Principal's Secretary: 
    Sarah Magruder

    918-4557  |  ext. 14907
    magruder.sarah@wgmail.org

    Office Secretary:
    Nikita Hicks
    918-918-4550 | ext. 14900
    hicks.nikita@wgmail.org

    Receptionist:
    Karen Finn
    918-xxxx  | ext. 14xxx
    finn.karen@wgmail.org
    Counselors:
    Linda Peterson

    918-4554  |  ext. 14904
    peterson.linda@wgmail.org


    Erica Blanks, 6th Grade

    918-4554 | ext. 14904
    spraggins.erica@wgmail.org

    Lynne Reif, 7th Grade
    918-xxxx | ext xxxxx
    reif.lynn@wgmail.org

    Sarah Bodi, 8th Grade
    918-4555 |  ext. 14905
    bodi.sarah@wgmail.org

    Nurse: 
    Amy Hensley

    918-4559  | ext. 14909
    hensley.amy@wgmail.org


    Clinic Aide:
    Madalyn Baker

    Area SSD Coordinator 6-8
    Stephanie Berry
    314-963-6450

    Email: seberry@ssdmo.org

    Building Subs:
    Kasondra McDaniel - 4 day
    Susan Nelson - 5 day
    Johnnie Parker - 5 day

    Serving: Grades 6, 7 & 8
    August 2021 enrollment: 1005
    School Hours: 8:35am - 3:25pm
    Mascot: Jr. Statesmen

    PTO Co-Presidents:
      
    Events:
    Open House August 18, 3 - 7pm.


    School history

    Hixson Middle School, named for James T. Hixson, long-time Webster Groves High School principal, opened in September 1955 as a junior high with 725 students in grades 7 through 9. The building sits on 20 acres of land, which also includes Moss Field. The cost of building was $1.6 million. Conversion to a middle school began in 1988. The change was gradual, and extended over a period of years.

    Following the middle school philosophy of providing an environment that is inviting, safe, enclusive, and supporting for all, students are individually placed on grade-level teams. Hixson's seventh grade teams are Yellow, Red, and Orange. Hixson's eighth grade teams are Purple, Blue, and Green. Students are able to choose from a wide range of elective classes, including foreign language, fine arts, family and consumer science, and industial technology.

    Hixson has been recognized by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for student performance, including the prestigious Gold Star honor. Hixson received a Bronze Award for its use of Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support. Hixson staff has fully implemented a 1:1 technology initiative.

    This year, sixth grade students will attend Hixson, along with seventh and eighth graders. Thanks to the Proposition E bond issue, Hixson expanded with a new academic wing, enlarged cafeteria and new main entrance on South Elm Avenue.