Return to Headlines


Congratulations to Nicolaus Braun, Luke Burbee, and John Porthouse for being named 2019 National Merit Finalists! They join our Commended Students, announced last fall: Jack Arbuckle, Isabelle Burke, Claire Burns, Leah Cooke, and Gabe Mitchell.



WGHS Statesbots Black robotics team advanced to state on Saturday, placing third out of thirty six and winning awards in design and engineering. Congrats!



Congratulations to our DECA students for their performance at the DECA District competition:

Gwen Acar- 3rd Place Human Resources Management
Henry Bante and Jake Greer- 4th Place Team Financial Services 
Ethan Barrs and Ainsley McDermott- 6th Place Team Travel and Tourism
Lindsey Bennett- 1st Place Retail Merchandising
Joe Castleman and Quinton Nehring- 6th Place Buying and Merchandising 
Mario Colombo- 3rd Place Automotive Services
Quin Dolan and Rosalie Garzia – 4th Place Travel and Tourism
Izzy Heintze and Emme Carpenter- 6th Place Travel and Tourism
Spencer Erb- 5th Place Entrepreneurship 
Rachel Fisher- 2nd Place Apparel and Accessories
James Groenier and Ray McIntyre- 1st Place Entrepreneurship Team
Sam Hayden-4th Place Automotive Services
James Hickey and Claire Kellick- 1st Place Hospitality Services Team
Joi Johnson-5th Place Retail Merchandising
Rebekah Kinworthy and Thomas Koelling- 4th Place Marketing Management Team
Teddy Kirdy- 4th Place Sports and Entertainment Marketing
Allison Kuskowski- 3rd Place Hotel and Lodging 
Jack Parker- 4th Place Business Services
Lily Partridge and Evelyn Trampe- 1st Place Start Up Business Plan and 2nd Place Business Law Team
Ethan Patrick- 2nd Place Food Marketing
Jack Pohlmann- 5th Place Food Marketing
Sarah Richards and Anika Fiehler- 5th Place Business Law and Ethics
Elanine Roberts and Mia Louise Schechschulte- 4th Place Buying and Merchandising
Peyton St. James and Elizabeth Zareh- 1st Place Buying and Merchandising
Emily Stisser- 6th Place Retail Merchandising
Isabele Stutte- 4th Place Apparel and Accessories
Edward Suber- 5th Place Sports and Entertainment Marketing
Clara Veldhuizen and Kate Christanell- 6th Place Marketing Management Team



Congratulations to the following mini-grant recipients! Special thanks to the WGSD Foundation for funding such worthwhile projects. 

Greg Fick, “Canvas Creativity”

Nicholas Kirschman, “VR Robots”

Diane Stromberg/Liam Owens, “Junior Garden”



Congratulations to the winners of the Winter Homecoming Court:

Freshmen: Dean Schwager and Calli Hepfinger

Sophomores: Chris Hollandsworth and Maddie Buske

Juniors: Henry Bante and Becca Mandernach

Seniors: Ethan Patrick and Mikayla Morgan



Congratulations to the following winners of the PPIF contest:



Jaden Fields – 1st runner up

Aryka Cooper – Grand Prize

Jessica Peterson – Grand Prize

Brianna Richardson – 2nd runner up

Amissa Blumenthal – 1st runner up

Chris Rhodes – Grand prize

Stephanie Blake – 2nd runner up

Brianna Arinze – 2nd runner up

Nakaya Bratcher – Grand Prize




The Proud Past - Inspired Future program offers an essay contest in which African-American students submit an essay of words, music or art why they're proud of their heritage and inspired for their future. Prizes include:

•Two 2nd Runners Up - $100

•Two 1st Runners Up - $200

Up to Four Grand Prizes – Join Dana Miller and Julie Burchett for a weekend in Washington, DC to visit the National Museum of African American History and Culture, see the MLK Memorial and other monuments, tour the Capitol Building and enjoy other experiential learning activities!


Visit to learn more!


  • WG Drama Honors/Awards from the 2019 State Thespian Conference:
  • Trinity Madison finished up her role as our State Thespian Student Officer, 2018-2019

    Caroline Gillow received a “superior” rating and an invite to Nationals in Costume Design with her portfolio for Midsummer Night’s Dream.

    Tea Gardner & Grace Engel received a “superior” rating and an invite to Nationals on their Duet Acting IE scene from the play Keely and Du. They also got selected to perform in front of all of the State delegates on the KC Broadway stage.

    Jessica Peterson received a “superior” rating and an invite to Nationals on her Solo acting IE with cuttings from Fences and Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. She also got selected to perform in front of all of the State delegates on the KC Broadway stage.

    Basil Sessen received 1st place in the Tech Tournament with a 52 second time in the “threading a sewing machine” event.


  • Congratulations to the ECHO for earning a "First Class" distinction from the National Scholastic Press Association! They were also honored as a 2019 NSPA Online Pacemaker finalist! Honoring the nation’s best, the National Scholastic Press Association has named 44 scholastic news sites as finalists in its prestigious Pacemaker competition.
  • At the January meeting of the Webster Groves School District Parent Advisory Council two of our WGHS teachers were honored for their commitment to ensuring ALL of their students are included meaningfully in their classes. Those two teachers were: Mr. Tim Havis and Mr. Zach Smith. Congratulations!


    The Parent Advisory Council is made up of WG School District families with a child who either receives special education services or has a 504 Plan.

  • All Suburban Band Programs were held at Ladue Horton Watkins High School.


    Congratulations to the following band students who performed this past Sunday with the St. Louis All Suburban Concert and Jazz Bands:


    Concert Band


    Sarah Veldhuizen - principal oboe

    Nita Isom - principal clarinet

    Taylor Howard - clarinet, chair 12

    Halee Lawson - bass clarinet, chair 5

    Skylar Jones - french horn, chair 8

    Ray Wetzel-Meehan - trumpet, chair 5

    Jessica Powell - trombone, chair 5


    Jazz Band


    Sam Swaine - alt. Alto Sax

    Jack Bledsoe - alt. Tenor Sax

    Hank Miller - lead trumpet

    Matthew Muldoon - trumpet 3

    Reade Snelling - trombone 2


    Evan Palmer - bass trombone